It's been a hot minute since my last post. I swear to you that it's not because I'm one of those types who sets a goal on a Tuesday and promptly tosses it out the window on Wednesday.

You see...

Dearly beloved....we are gathered here today to get through this thing called life... Thanks, Prince.

For real though...

The holidays were weird. They were weird for everyone in the world, no doubt. Thanks, COVID. I've recently moved 1000 miles away from the place I called home for 30 years (job relocation, not just because). We left our kids behind (awesome thriving adults, but still...), friends, and my job as I knew it. So for the first time in 18 years, I didn't see my children for Thanksgiving. We celebrated in waves for Christmas, staggering their visits because they're grownups now with work schedules to juggle. Yes, they traveled to see us, but we didn't go anywhere so social distancing was in effect.

What's the point of this incredibly boring post? Well, excuses, of course! While they were here, I wanted to maximize every minute I had with them, so I didn't disappear into the office to write. Then we jumped back into the usual work schedule after the New Year, and I had a lot of big projects, one after the other, so by the time I clocked out, I was done with mentally taxing tasks. Like writing.

What's that sound? Apparently, my cat has psychic ability and he knows that I am not, in fact, wrapping things up here and on my way to the couch for evening cuddles. Of course, he's a resourceful sort of person and he has a solution to draw my attention where it belongs. On him. Vomit be damned. Thanks, cat.

Back to the point. I'm a person who thrives on schedule and predictability. I recently joined a Meetup group that gathers online to write. We're all muted, but some of us have cameras on. We're writing together, apart. The timer is on and we write for an hour and then come back together to share (if we want to). This is just a very casual accountability thing I'm trying now, just to get myself back into the groove.

So the point of this entry is just to put words down. I've done that. Now, off to find a writing prompt and try something more creative. 39 minutes left in this virtual collaborative-but-not writing session.